09
Jun
09

Apple treating developers like sheep?

Ok, so I wasn’t there. But like most apple fans–isn’t that the most interesting phenomena? that we are “fans” of a corporation? anyway–I watched the liveblog while it happened. I ooed and aahed about the slick new updates to the best operating system out there, and lusted after a new iPhone with a compass and a video camera. I had my laughs when they poked fun at Microsoft. It was a nice time.

Today, I’m watching the keynote for the OS X update closer. I’ve got my popcorn and easy chair, only the popcorn is my lunch and the easy chair is my ergonomic desk chair. I’ve got my joy on, but I’ve got some gripes too.

This is a developer conference, right? That means it’s geared towards tech folk, right? So why does Bertrand assert that one of Windows’ downfalls is DLLs? Os X has the same thing, only they’re “.so” files, or Shared Object files. It’s the same with Linux. The thing about DLLs, a thing fading into history since the GAC entered the scene with .NET, is the registry. THAT is the problem, not that windows has DLLs. Come on, Bertrand, you know this.

It’s really the fact that he calls DLLs “the same old technology” which bothers me. If we’re going to talk about “the same old technology”, let’s put Xcode on the table, shall we? No? Ok, I didn’t think you wanted to go there either, Bertrand. So let’s take off the brass knuckles and play nice.

Let’s talk about Disk Defragmentation. Mac users still experience disk fragmentation. I have, certainly. No, it’s not as bad because Apple’s installer does some disk optimization, but the problem is still there. That’s why Coriolis Systems can make money selling iDefrag (which is awesome b.t.w.). I agree with you, Bert–you don’t mind if I call you Bert, do you?–the user shouldn’t have to know about disk fragmentation, but it’s still a problem and until OS X builds a better filesystem that defrags while-u-wait, we’re all stuck. So don’t go pointing fingers here either, or they’ll get slapped. Naughty, naughty.

Everyone’s favorite, User Account Control, came up too. Bert, Bert, Bert. In Vista, yes, UAC was horribly implemented, coercing many to turn it off completely, including me. It behaved like a nagging back seat driver, always asking if you really know where you’re going. Sheesh, it sucked! But hey, everyone learns lessons and in Windows 7, UAC is so much more out of your way. It’s much more like when OS X asks you to authenticate before you do something potentially harmful, like do a software update, or alter some system settings. It’s a lock down, just like yours.

And it’s funny to me, that you say at the end of just a few rants, “…so that’s Windows 7. Same old technology.” Bert, just know that moonlighting as a lawyer will never work out for you, mmm kay? Keep your cushy job at Apple, further innovating the greatest OS out there–really, I believe that as a proud mac user–but. I mean, come on, there’s so much more to Windows 7 than what you listed. This is a technical conference, Bert, so be technical! Don’t just feed us some koolaid and think we’re dumb sheep, that’s disrespectful.

Thanks for listening.


0 Responses to “Apple treating developers like sheep?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment